Raising Little People

Not to long ago, my little boy got really ill with some sort of 24 hour stomach bug. I mean he was sick with non stop vomiting for 8 to 12 hours. As with any kid who’s that sick, the feeling you get when throwing up is less than desirable. He was miserable and scared and as a mama bear it was my duty and joy to comfort him through it.

Every time he felt it coming on he would panic, so mommy to the rescue bolted up the stairs into his room and rubbed his back while he vomited. I literally waited on him hand and foot. Anything he needed I brought him and I never thought twice about it.

So as most viruses travel through the family, this one was no different as it worked its way through to my husband. The kids were obviously bummed because all of this took place during spring break while we were in Florida. I tried to care for my husband as much as possible and still be there to entertain the kids. They missed hanging out with their dad, but I took notice of one small yet very important detail…they were so compassionate and loving. My son, who’s 9 years old, says “I want to be there for daddy because he was there for me.” My 6 year old was crying because “she just wanted daddy better.”

Then it hit me, for every time that I ever doubted my parenting, it was then at that moment that I knew I didn’t have to wonder if I was doing a good job. Every night-waking moment was worth it and every time I had to change my day because one of my kids needed me was worth it. You see, we as parents want to raise “good” kids, but it’s on another level to raise godly kids. Kids that are kind, compassionate, loving, selfless, etc. My children’s compassion and concern for someone other than themselves was amazing. Yes, it was their dad; but the humanity and godliness I saw that day was encouraging.

I’m learning that it’s not enough to teach them to be godly, but rather modeling godliness and goodness is the key. We have to be who we want them to become.

It’s not enough to tell them how or what to do, but as parents we must shepherd them. We must lead them. The last thing our kids want is another bible lesson. Don’t get me wrong, they have their place; but what they want and truly need is an example of love shown to them.

Its not enough to provide material goods only as an illustration of love. Investment of time, listening, compassion, and understanding will pay off dividends in the end. Long gone are the days of feeling and acting as if our kids are an inconvience. 

They are watching us; every little look, every remark, every action. Why? Because they need someone to emulate and that someone is you. Remember, you are raising little people who will one day become big people. Raise the kind of kids who you’d want to befriend. Raise the kind of kids you’d want to run this country and raise the kind of kids God will be proud of.❤

***This blog is dedicated to all of the overworked, tired parents out there. Know your labor is not in vain!***

What’s your inspirational parenting story? Please share it with me. I’d love to know😊.

7 comments

  1. That is so good! Great job, Mom! I am reminded of my son, Ryan. He attended a private school, that required specific shoes as part of the uniform. His Dad and I bought him brand new shoes, because his other shoes were a bit too small and had a hole on the top. One day after school, I noticed Ryan was wearing his old shoes and I asked him why he didn’t wear his new shoes to school. He explained that a kid on his football team was wearing the same pair of shoes for the 3 years they had been at the school, and had worn holes into the bottom. He decided he could manage with his old shoes, since his hole was on the top. Yes, he gave his friend his new shoes. I am still so touched by his kindness and sacrifice to someone he felt had a greater need than himself.

    Like

  2. Wow!!!! Years ago I attended Yoir father’s church and rememeber being so moved amd motivated to worship God when hearing you vocally praise the Lord onstage. Years later, I’ve come across this particular blog, and have that same feeling of motivation and encouragement! This was right on girl!!!! I LOVE THIS, and it’s certainly a well-timed reading for me! I want nothing more than to have my 4 year old emulate my actions as a LOVING and God Fearing being. Thank you for this!

    Like

  3. Wow!!!! Years ago I attended your father’s church and remember feeling so moved and motivated to worship God when hearing you vocally praise the Lord onstage. Years later, I’ve come across this particular blog, and have that same feeling of motivation and encouragement! This was right on girl!!!! I LOVE THIS, and it’s certainly a well-timed reading for me! I want nothing more than to have my 4 year old emulate my actions as a LOVING and God Fearing being. Thank you for this!

    Like

  4. This was awesome! As a new mom those thoughts of “am I doing this right” cross my Mind often. You never know how your children will turn out, but as you stated, through modeling a godly life it’s almost inevitable for them to follow. I know I was raised in a generation where we went to church, but at home our lives were just…different. 😉 Thank you for sharing your heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Parenting is a gift from God. You’re Father (Bishop Williams) Married us and it has been 30 years come August. We married in Columbus at the old church (Truth). The wisdom passed on to us still rings aloud as we look back over our counseling sessions with him. Strong Foundation. I will never forget the moment when I first found out I was pregnant with my first son. Excited, yet very nervous for in that moment I knew my life would never be about only Me, again. See being married was the first step to losing selfish ways and being entangled as one. But when God allowed me to become a mother my life changed even the more…Especially a male child! See I quickly found the revelation that I would be his first experience of what a Godly woman would be. So much pressure at the age of 22. So there came Dj, then Ryan( who now lives in Columbus with his wife) – pause 2 years – then Kory, and last Brandynn. I couldn’t believe I had four sons…The pressure but I will never forget the moment I felt the leading of the Lord to take my four young sons and sit them on the altar and give them back to the Lord. That day God gave me some promises as I did to him. And over the 30 years of being married to my only husband and my sons now being 28,27,25 & 23, God has never failed me, and although I may have let God down a time or two, his mercy is everlasting. And the sure mercies of David has followed us to date. My two older sons are newly married and I prayed that they would find wives who loved God and would love them. Now they may not be perfect – I trust God at his word and he that has begun a good work in them will be sure to perform it until the day of Jesus Christ. Those preaching, musical and prophetic gifts are sure to manifest
    Be their Example!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment